Skip to content

Photography in Starlight

October 21, 2009

I talked briefly about my use of photography in my upcoming XBOX 360 game, Starlight, in a previous video-post. Today, I thought I’d give a couple of quick examples of photographs I’ve taken, and how they are used in the game.

Here is a photograph I snapped in the Ann Arbor Arboretum

Level1

And here’s a screenshot of it used in the game:

lv1

Here are a few more examples. This one in level two:

level2

lv2

And level three:

Level3

lv3And one last example in level four:

level4

lv4

When taking photographs for the game, I try and find some backdrops that aren’t distracting (cluttered, show lots of people, that sort of thing), but are still visually interesting and contain patterns. I also try to vary things by always changing the kind of shapes that appear in the photo, and never having the same palate of colors two levels in a row. The photos keep in theme, while still differing quite a bit. For example, the first level has a very close up view of a bush, and uses a large depth of field change, while the fourth level is zoomed out and is somewhat flatter (at least when viewed from a larger distance). Another example of how I change things while keeping consistent with the wooded style is the brightness. If you look at level three’s photo, it’s very vibrant and bright, while level two is more dim and mellow.

Every five levels I’ll change the theme to mix things up,  to stay consistent with the gameplay, and to provide breaks in the story. I have some examples of other worlds,  but I’ll save that for a later day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2009 9:40 pm

    Very interesting use of photography. It looks a bit like older Mario games combined with modern backgrounds. Nice work.

    • October 21, 2009 11:03 pm

      Thank you for the complements! Part of my focus in both the art style and gameplay is to use a lot of old ideas that still hold up, while introducing new creative ideas, so your comment is right on the money.

Leave a Reply

